The Journey

image6

This was where it all started.
I graduated high school in 2011, and made my way to a University studying Social Work. After a year I moved back home, even more unhealthy that I was before I left to first attend school. I weighed 275 pounds (highest recorded weight), battling depression and anxiety, and had no motivation or drive. I constantly felt “stuck.” But the thing was… I knew since I was a little girl, I HAD A PURPOSE TO BE HERE.  Sick and tired of being sick and tired, I challenged myself and threw away the excuses, and began finding my happiness- MYSELF.

After my adventure of living in South Carolina, I again moved back ‘home’ to figure this life out. The gym was difficult to commit to because I had (still do) bad knees and a bad back. There was a few times I ended up in the doctors office with swollen, black and blue knees from pushing myself too hard. I felt doomed at times… But I didn’t give up.

I found yoga and meditation. This has been a practice of not only connecting with my inner self, but pushing my body in new ways. Now, my body craves doing yoga. I set time aside to sit on my mat, listen to music, and go with the flow. I breathe! Yoga has been a workout that I’ve been able to stick with, and I’m grateful for it.

I also began drinking water, EVERYDAY. I was never one “addicted” to drinking soda and caffeine, but found myself drinking it when going out to places- it was the SOCIAL NORM. I would instead ask for lemon in my waters, because it not only enhanced the taste, but lemon also has MANY great benefits to the health of our bodies- such as weight loss!

The greatest tool that I found along my journey to better health and happiness, has been my connection with crystals.  Not only are they pretty to look at, but they’re uplifting & balancing. I love them! I’ve enjoyed traveling to different crystal stores, connecting with like-minded souls, exploring the world for crystals… everything about them has been an euphoric experience. (A blog post dedicated to my love for crystals will come later.. a book could really be written.) Some of my favorites include Amethyst, Fluorite, and Rose Quartz. But of course I love them all!
image2

Today, I find myself in a place of comfort of WHO I AM. A few years into this spiritual journey, I can see how much has changed, how I’ve transformed. I know who I am, why I am here, and the gifts and abilities I hold in order to heal myself and the world. I can’t express enough how grateful I am, and how proud I am in myself. Many battles have been overcome and won. I’ve picked myself up from rock bottom, cried many tears, had to let go of many relationships.. but I don’t regret a thing! The lows are what push us to our highest potential. Our PURPOSE.

And this is only the beginning.

Leave a Reply

